Marking of the Thirty-four Sites of the Philippine Route of the Magellan-Elcano expedition

The marking of the thirty-four sites of the Philippine route of the Magellan-Elcano expedition is in solidarity with the international project of tracing the route of the unprecedented achievement of humanity and science which proved that the world was indeed round.

Between 16 March and 28 October 2021, thirty-four historical markers (with reliefs) will be unveiled in the Visayas, Palawan, and Mindanao.  Below is the schedule of the unveiling of historical markers:



March 16 

1. Unveiling of the Samar quincentennial historical marker, Calicoan, Guiuan, Eastern Samar

2. Unveiling of the Suluan quincentennial historical marker, Suluan Is., Guiuan, Eastern Samar

March 18

3. Unveiling of the Homonhon quincentennial historical marker, Homonhon Is., Guiuan, E. Samar

March 25

4. Unveiling of the Gibusong quincentennial historical marker, Magsaysay, Gibusong Is., Loreto, Dinagat Island

5. Unveiling of the Hinunangan quincentennial historical marker, Hinunangan, Southern Leyte

March 29

6. Unveiling of the Limasawa quincentennial historical marker, Government Compound, Limasawa, Southern Leyte


April 4

7. Unveiling of the Leyte quincentennial historical marker, Combado, Maasin City

April 5

8. Unveiling of the Canigao quincentennial historical marker, Canigao Island, Matalom Leyte

9. Unveiling of the Gatighan quincentennial historical marker, Himokilan Island, Hindang, Leyte

10. Unveiling of the Baybay quincentennial historical marker, Baybay City, Leyte

April 6

11. Unveiling of the Ponson quincentennial historical marker, Pilar Cebu

12. Unveiling of the Poro quincentennial historical marker, Poro, Cebu

13. Unveiling of the Ticobon quincentennial historical marker, San Francisco, Cebu

April 7

14. Unveiling of the Cebu quincentennial historical marker, Plaza Sugbu, Cebu City

April 27

15. Unveiling of the Mactan, Lapulapu and Magellan Quincentennial historical markers, Liberty Shrine, Mactan, Cebu


May 2

16. Unveiling of the Bohol quincentennial historical marker, Punta Cruz, Maribojoc, Bohol

May 4

17. Unveiling of the Panilongon quincentennial historical marker, Dumaguete City

May 7

18. Unveiling of the Kipit quincentennial historical marker, Brgy. Kipit, Labason, Zamboanga del Norte

May 13

19. Unveiling of the Cagayan quincentennial historical marker, Mapun, Tawi-Tawi

May 27

20. Unveiling of the Palawan quincentennial historical marker, Sitio Marikit, Brgy. San Juan, Aborlan, Palawan


June 18

21. Unveiling of the Tagusao quincentennial historical marker, Sitio Tagusao, Barong-Barong, Brooke’s Point, Palawan

June 21

22. Unveiling of the Balabac quincentennial historical marker, Balabac, Palawan


September 30

23. Unveiling of the Dulo ng Palawan quincentennial historical marker, Buliluyan, Bataraza, Palawan


October 11

24. Unveiling of the Sulu quincentennial historical marker, Jolo, Sulu

25. Unveiling of the Basilan quincentennial historical marker, Fuego-Fuego Beach, Brgy. Tabi-awan, Isabela City, Basilan

October 12

26. Unveiling of the Cawit quincentennial historical marker, Cawit, Zamboanga City

27. Unveiling of the Subanin quincentennial historical marker, Zamboaga City

October 14

28. Unveiling of the Manalipa quincentennial historical marker, Manalipa Island, Zamboanga City

October 15

29. Unveiling of the Moro Gulf quincentennial historical marker, Pagadian City

October 19

30. Unveiling of the Maguindanao quincentennial historical marker, Old Cotabato City Hall

October 25

31. Unveiling of the Benaian quincentennial historical marker, Kamanga, Maasim, Sarangani

October 26

32. Unveiling of the Batulaki quincentennial historical marker, Brgy. Batulaki, Glan, Sarangani Province

October 27

33. Unveiling of the Candighar quincentennial historical marker, Municipal Grounds, Balut Islands

October 28

34. Unveiling of the Sarangani quincentennial historical marker, Brgy. Camalig, Sarangani Island, Sarangani, Municipality, Davao Occidental


For queries, contact Ms. Juvelyn Nierves of the National Quincentennial Committee Secretariat at [email protected].

Share this: