NQC, PhilPop to Release a Song for Frontliners, Filipinos

Posted on 09 April 2020
By NQC Admin

The National Quincentennial Committee (NQC) and PhilPop Musicfest Foundation, Inc. (PhilPop) are set to release on 10 April 2020 the fourth song from the 2021 Quincentennial Commemorations in the Philippines (2021 QCP) playlist.

Titled “Bayanihan,” the song will be streamed via Spotify. A lyric video will be uploaded on the official Facebook pages of the NQC (@nqc2021) and PhilPop (@philpopmusic). The song celebrates the heroic heritage of the Filipinos through time, engendered in one of the notable customs of ours: bayanihan.

Bayanihan is a Filipino word for ‘community mobilization.’ Its literal meaning is ‘to be a hero’ or ‘to unleash the warrior within,’ due to the root word, ‘bayani’ (‘hero,’ ‘warrior’). The release is timely, just as the nation combat the COVID-19 pandemic and commemorate the 78th anniversary of the Araw ng Kagitingan on April 9. The song is dedicated to all Filipino frontliners across the world.

“Bayanihan” was selected among the quincentennial song entries during the 2019 PhilPop Bootcamp North Luzon in Pangasinan in September 2019. National Artist for Music Ryan Cayabyab himself was the camp master of the bootcamp.

The song was written and composed by Christian Dumaplin. Reuben Laurente sung the composition. It was arranged by Marlon Barnuevo and produced by Jungee Marcelo.

The first song to stream online was “Bagani,” the official theme song of the 2021 QCP. It was written and composed by Roel Rostata and sung by Anthony Castello with his a cappella group Pinopela. The song debuted during the 500-day countdown to 2021 QCP on 14 December 2019.

The two other songs, also on Spotify, are “Mactan” (written, composed and performed by Kian Dionisio) and “Sana Bukas” (collaboration of Thyro Alfaro, Yumi Lacsamana, Lara Maigue, Davey Langit, and Marlon Barnuevo, and sung by Noel Cabangon).

The 2021 QCP Playlist has a total of nine songs, adjudged from almost a hundred song entries across the country via 2019 PhilPop Bootcamps. The project was co-sponsored by the National Commission for Culture and the Arts and the National Historical Commission of the Philippines, in support of the OPM industry.

The NQC acknowledges the power of music in bridging the message of the 500th anniversaries of the Philippine part in the first circumnavigation of the world, the Victory at Mactan, and other related events. Visit www.nqc.gov.ph for more information.

. . .


Limandaang taon lumipas ating nakamtan
Tagumpay ng Pilipino sa laban ng Mactan
Limang siglong nakaraan natin natutunan
Tunay na kahulugan ng bayanihan.

Dito nasusukat, tapang na walang katulad
Bayani rin pala tayong lahat

Kasangga mo’ng Pilipino, ano mang lahi mo
Kasangga mo’ng Pilipino, ano mang laban mo
Sa timog o silangan, hilaga o kanluran
Dito maasahan… ang aming Inang Bayan.

Halina’t ibahagi, ating anyo’t antas
Ating ipamalas handog ng Pilipinas
Kasama ang buong mundo, ating mababakas
‘Pag magkakasama ay may taglay na lakas

Repeat pre-chorus
Repeat chorus twice

Song Credits:

Music and Lyrics: Christian Dumaplin
Interpreters: Reuben Laurente
Producer: Jungee Marcelo
Arranger: Marlon Barnuevo
Guitars: Gino Madrid
Backing Vocals: Marlon Barnuevo
Recording Studio: Bellhaus Studio
Sound Engineer (Recording): Nicho Minion
Sound Engineer (Pre & Post Production): Jungee Marcelo
Mastered by: Jett Galinado at The Bakery (Los Angeles, CA)
Executive Producers: Noel Cabangon and Ma. Dinah Remolacio
Publisher: PhilPop Musicfest Foundation, Inc.

Share this: