101 Years of the Philippine Flag

Posted on 26 March 2021
By National Quincentennial Committee Secretariat

We are saluting the Philippine Flag as our national flag for 101 years now.

On 26 March 1920, the National Assembly (forerunner of Philippine Congress) passed Act No. 2928 which adopted the Philippine Flag of 1898 as the national flag of the Philippines. Several months before the passage of the law, the Filipino people triumphantly repealed the Flag Law of 1907 (sponsored by the U.S. Philippine Commission) on 22 October 1919 which prohibited the display of the Philippine Flag of 1898 and other symbols of the Philippine Revolution and of our war against the United States.

The National Historical Commission of the Philippines, the agency mandated to protect the national flag by virtue of RA 8491, declared the Liberty Shrine in Mactan, Lapu-Lapu City as a site of the permanent display of the national flag, effective 17 January 2021 (exactly the 100-day countdown to the 500th anniversary of the Victory at Mactan).

Share this: